Low-Fat Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake

by Jennifer

There are certain things when I meet someone that help me more easily determine whether I’m going to be friends with them.  Liking cheesecake is one of those defining things.

I mean, you don’t have to like it.  You could also be a good conversationalist or have a great knack for spontaneous humor or have amazing taste in music.  I understand that there are lots of deeper, more meaningful ways to connect with someone you’re just getting to know.  But at the end of the day, if I find out you like cheesecake I will immediately ask if you’d like to hang out again, as soon as possible, presumably with plans to consume copious amounts of cheesecake.  That’s just how it is.

This recipe in particular I love because it’s got all the richness and thickness of cheesecake done normally, but with a few variations on the classic recipe it becomes low-fat and lower in calories.  When I said we were going to consume copious amounts of cheesecake together in our sudden and new friendship, I meant it. 

Recipe:

(I used a round 9″ pan, for reference)

  • 3/4 cup finely crushed graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp light butter, softened
  • 8 oz package reduced fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt (I recommend Chobani)
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup strawberry jam (I actually used a mixed berry jam, so any type of jam can be substituted)

Set oven to 350°.

Mix graham cracker crumbs and butter together until entire mixture is soft.  Press evenly across the bottom of the pan.

Then, beat cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla until smooth (you can use an electric mixer but I used a mixing bowl and a fork because I’m a sophisticated chef college student).  Add fat free yogurt, egg whites, lemon juice, and flour, and beat mixture until all ingredients are fully incorporated.  Be careful not to overbeat.

Pour contents into pan.  I would recommend gently shifting the pan around until the top looks even.

Stir jam until smooth, then drop small spoonfuls over the surface of the top.  Using a knife, swirl jam gently.

Bake 30 minutes, until center is almost set.  Cool to room temperature, then refrigerate for a few hours.

