Cauliflower Soup

by Jennifer

I have a theory that everyone looks good in fall clothes. Swap out your sweatshirt for a sweater – BAM! You could be in a J. Crew spread. Put on some waffle-knit as you sit down to eat your waffles – BAM! You’re now the heartthrob of many a lumberjane. In case you couldn’t already guess, my closet is filled with an arsenal of sweaters, skirts, and scarves. In fact, I own but one pair of jean shorts which I wear all summer, just waiting out the season so I can pull out my multitude of tights matching the colors of the falling leaves.

I could not be more excited about the arrival of fall. I’m disgustingly energetic, I have boundless enthusiasm for everything, and all I want to do is sprinkle everything with cinnamon. This recipe is just one way I’m going to infect you with my enthusiasm for all things warm and seasoned. I also have a little too much enthusiasm, so if I don’t share it I’ll explode. Come on, help me out.

This cauliflower soup has so many things going for it. It’s warm, it’s hearty, and it’s low in calories. Additionally, you can eat it plain (still pretty flavorful) or you can put toppings on it and get the most amazing mix of textures and tastes. I like to put crumbled corn chips and a swirl of sriracha sauce on top, as displayed above.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium to large head of cauliflower
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 potatoes
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 cups of water or vegetable stock (I used water and it tastes just as flavorful)

Chop the cauliflower, carrot, potatoes, and garlic. Add them to a large pot and  pour in the two cups of water or stock. Cover, and put on medium heat to bring to a boil.

Every so often, stir and mix the pot. After about ten minutes or so at a full rolling boil, add desired amount of salt and pepper and turn off the burner. The vegetables should be soft, although they will not be puree yet.

Let sit for a few minutes. Then, add everything to a blender or food processor, and blend until preferred consistency.

Enjoy!

I wanted to take a moment, at the very end here, to explain my absence from this blog. I know I don’t owe it updates, but I want to maintain it, particularly for my own enjoyment! The beginning of this summer was one of the most stressful times of my life, and between an apartment robbery and being seriously ill it was a while before I had a laptop again and was back on my feet. Thank you for continuing to read it, and things should be back up to speed and posts should be more frequent and regular from here on out. Check back soon!

