Apple Cinnamon Granola Bars

by Jennifer

5

My roommates and I spend about 50% of our conversations discussing food. We’re convinced it’s okay to eat a block of cheese in one sitting, and three dinners are perfectly fine. While my tastes and food adventures do stray from the norm sometimes, my roommates are fantastic about embracing it, encouraging it, and often even trying it. I once made pumpkin chocolate chip cookies with a glaze, to be told by one roommate that they were too spiced and another that they were under-spiced. I was just glad to be sitting there with them, sharing what I had made.

9

All in all, what I’m trying to say is that I moved in with some of my best friends in August, and I’m incredibly happy about it. This recipe is a bit of an appreciation post. Midterm season is over here for students, but it doesn’t mean that the barrage of tests, reports, and essays aren’t a constant source of stress. My roommates are some of the hardest working people I know, so these are for them. Stay gold, Henrietta girls.

1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup agave or maple syrup
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 & 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup peeled and chopped apples (I used Gala)

16

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place baking paper in the bottom of an 8×8-inch pan.

2) Mix together the honey, agave/maple syrup, applesauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla extract. Stir in the oats, making sure that all the oats are covered. Add the almonds, apples, and raisins, and mix.

20

3) Pour the mixture out into the baking pan and press into the pan, making sure it is evenly distributed and tightly packed.

4) Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool – sticking it in the fridge works well for this. Remove from the pan and cut into bars. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

11

