Raspberry Chia Lemonade

by Jennifer

photo 1I bought a bag of chia seeds. I did. I became one of those people who buy into trends. I’m not really sure what I was thinking when I bought them, but I went home and sat them on my lap as I researched their benefits. Pros – healthy omega 3 fats, fiber, protein, and tryptophan! Cons – what the heck was I supposed to do with a bag full of it? I spent an afternoon researching, and started with chia pudding. Added a little bit of agave, some almond milk, and it was surprisingly tasty. The texture does take some getting used to, but if you’re a fan of tapioca or foods of a similar texture you will have no problem. I admit chia isn’t a love affair for everyone! But I ended up loving up, and it’s a very non-offensive food that everyone should be willing to try. This drink is actually superb, and I would drink it willingly, chia or no chia.

photo 2

On a semi-related note, apologies for two drink recipes in a row! I have a big (and difficult) dessert that I’m working on tackling. Recently I came across a kitchenaid mixer that was too cheap to pass up, so I bought it and it’s inspired me big time! I’ve set my heart on making my all-time favorite baked good, and went on a hunt around my town for all the ingredients. Get excited. Or don’t. It’s the holiday season, which means I’ve got more than enough excitement to go around. Fah la la la lahh, la la la lahh…

Ingredients

  • 2 cups coconut water
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup raspberries (I used frozen – just be sure to thaw them and thoroughly muddle them)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 4 tbsp chia seeds

Mix all ingredients in a jar. Let sit for a minimum of 30 minutes, until the seeds form a gel consistency. Shake vigorously before serving. Enjoy!

photo 3

